Match Reports‎ > ‎

Disappointment in the Replay

posted 19 Dec 2010, 02:49 by Unknown user

City junior B football league final replay, 29/7/04

Pallaskenry 1-12 Milford 0-7

After a nine year absence, the Kerryman Cup was up again for grabs in the City junior B football league final last night in Clarina. Held to a draw a fortnight ago , Pallaskenry made no mistake at the second attempt when drawing away at the close of a highly entertaining game to get the the better of a weakened Milford lineup.

A goal six minutes before the break proved to be the decisive moment of the game as Milford, despite putting in a spirited rally during the third quarter, were never subsequently able to eat into the seven point lead that it gave Pallas. Overall, however, the finishing power of the victors’ attack proved to be the difference between the sides as they were able to pile on the scores during their periods of superiority.

Michael Paul O’Keeffe had Pallas quickly off the mark and, although Leonard Dolan replied immediately, points from Shane Hogan, Shane Loftus, Martin Hogan and Kieran Deegan built up their lead despite playing into the breeze. Their real breakthrough came when a fierce drive came off the post and the rebound came to Alan Fitzgerald whose shot was deflected by a Milford defender past Kevin Keenan.

Liam O’Meara replied immediately and, after Deegan bagged his second score, Tony Connolly sent oer two frees for the Plassey men. However, Martin Hogan’s point left his side leading 1-7 to 0-4 att he break.

Jerome O’Connell widened insde a minute of the restart but, following an exchange between Colman O’Flaherty and Loftus, Dolan and Connolly from a free rewarded Milford for their pressure. However Pallas reagained the initiaitve in the closing minutes for Deegan and sub Ian Gibbs twice to close the scoring.

Pallaskenry: M Keogh; S McMahon, D Neville, G O’Dowd; P O’Connell, K Gallagher, K Rogers; J O’Connell (0-1), S Loftus (0-2); S Hogan (0-1), MP O’Keeffe (0-1), A Fitzgerald (1-0); M Hogan (0-2), K Deegan (0-3), W Lynch. Subs: I Gibbs (0-2) for W Lynch, M Roche for M Hogan, S Doyle for A Fitzgerald.

Milford: K Keenan; C Cunneen, J Robinson, P Walsh; N Clancy, T Connolly (0-3), E Walsh; R Grimes, C O’Flaherty (0-1); D Ryan, L Dolan (0-1), D O’Connell; L O’Meara (0-1), J Finn, E Hawe. Subs: T Moore for P Walsh, R Lynch for D Ryan.

Referee: M Mann (Ballybrown).