Match Reports‎ > ‎

Milfords Historic First Hurling Match

posted 19 Dec 2010, 02:38 by Unknown user

City Junior B hurling championship, 27/6/04

Old Christians 2-12 Milford 1-5

Up against a side playing their first ever game of adult hurling, Old Christians were made to fight all the way by Milford in yesterday morning’s opening round of the City junior B championship in Rhebogue. Although the Rathbane side had ten points to spare at the end, 1-5 of their total came in the ten extra minutes referee John Phillips added to the second half and, in fact, they were under serious pressure for most of that half as their opponents brought the margin back to minimum but failed to take their chances to move in front.

Andy Kiely had Christians off the mark within a minute and, after Ronan Grimes equalised for Milford, Johnny Power’s free restored their advantage. Their break came following an excellent Gerry Collins save when Daniel Higgins burst in ahead of the defence to whack the rebound to the net

Justin Fitzgerald pulled one back for Milford but they then missed two frees and were punished by Paul Hegarty before Colin Fitzpatrick struck to narrow Christians’ lead to 1-3 to 0-3 at the break.

Power pointed again straight from the restart and was followed soon after by sub Willie Stanners before, led by inspirational centre-back Neil Clancy, Milford stopped the gallop by pinning Christians in their own half for the next quarter hour. It took five successive wides before they narrowed the gap through Fitzpatrick’s free and they were back in the hunt when Cyril McMahon’s long shot flew straight to the net. But they failed to make the final push, Christians weathered the storm and points from Pa Foley and Stanners gave them daylight by the end of regulation time.

As the watch continued to tick on, Foley pointed, Stanners goaled and strikes from Dara Long, Kiely, Stanners and Kiely again stretched Christians advantage before Fitzpatrick’s reply finished off the scoring.

Old Christians: B Muldoon; E Byrnes, P Howard, T Phayer; C Keogh, P Foley (0-2), J Kearns; E Butler, D Long (0-1); F O’Hagan, J Power (0-2), P Hegarty (0-1); D Higgins (1-0), S Gorey, A Kiely (0-3). Sub: W Stanners (1-3) for S Gorey.

Milford: G Collins; J Redington, O McGarr, J Robinson; E Hawe, N Clancy, K Maher; R Lynch, R Grimes (0-1); S Feighery, C McMahon (1-0), D O’Connell; J Fitzgerald (0-1), C Fitzpatrick (0-3), J Finn. Sub: L O’Meara for D O’Connell.

Referee: J Phillips (Na Piarsaigh).