Match Reports‎ > ‎

Points in Patrickswell

posted 19 Dec 2010, 03:06 by Unknown user

13th July 2006, City Junior Football Championship

Patrickswell 0-5 Milford 0-9

Milford maintained their 100% start to the City Junior A Football Championship with a hard-fought win away to Patrickswell last Thursday. On a perfect evening for football, both sides took a few minutes to settle, with misplaced passes cutting a number of promising moves short. It was the 10th minute before John Collins opened the away side's account with a pointed free, Patrickswell levelling from a 45 shortly afterwards. However, that was to be their only score of the half, as a combination of poor shooting and great defending by the Milford backs kept the hosts at bay. At the other end, Milford gradually began to put some decent attacking moves together and scoring chances were duly created. Minors were added through Barry Ryan, another Collins' free and John Morrissey to open a three point advantage (0-4 to 0-1), before an excellent team move, culminating in a neat finish by Shane Galvin, rounded off the scoring for the half.

HT: Milford 0-5 Patrickswell 0-1

Milford started the second half brightly and extended their lead to five points through Collins (free) and Galvin (0-7 to 0-2). Credit to Patrickswell though, as they continued to battle hard and added two points to reduce the deficit to three midway through the half, the visitors only mustering a series of wides in response. At this point, Milford were on the back foot and looking a bit ragged but, importantly, further dogged defence meant that Patrickswell were unable to create genuine goal chances. Shane Galvin then eased the pressure, curling over a glorious point from out near the sideline and Liam O'Meara tagged on another shortly afterwards (0-9 to 0-4). With the last attack of the game, Patrickswell won a 13m free, which was blasted over the bar, and the referee's whistle sounded on the kickout.

FT: Milford 0-9 Patrickswell 0-5

This win guarantees Milford a place in the semi-finals of the City Championship, with two games (against Monaleen and Ballybrown) remaining.

Team and Scorers

Kevin Keenan; Mike Doyle; Ollie McGarr; Brendan O'Sullivan; Eamonn Hawe; John Daly; Neil Clancy; John Morrissey (0-1); Darragh Murphy; Shane Galvin (0-3); Barry Ryan (0-1); Cathal Geraghty; Liam O'Meara (0-1); John Collins (0-3f); PJ Byrne