Match Reports‎ > ‎

Roselawns first Hurling Fixture

posted 19 Dec 2010, 02:44 by Unknown user

City Junior B hurling championship, 10/7/04

Pallaskenry 7-11 Milford 0-4

In the first ever hurling fixture to be played at Roselawn, a strong final quarter in which they bagged four goals powered visitors Pallaskenry to a comprehensive victory over hosts Milford in the third round of the City junior B hurling championship on Saturday evening. Strength up the middle and a nose for the scores proved to be the difference as the winners took their chances and contained Milford’s efforts at replying before pressing home their advantage as resistance flagged in the closing stages.

Simon Guerin pointed directly from the throw-in but early exchanges were even enough as Willie Lynch’s point and Damien O’Brien’s goal were met by Colin Fitzpatrick’s free. O’Brien’s second goal, as he capitalised on Milford’s failure to clear eleven minutes from the break, proved to be the real breakthrough as it was quickly followed by points from Gerry O’Dowd and Guerin and Fergal Clarke scrambling to the net before Fitzpatrick replied with two frees to leave the score at 3-4 to 0-3.

Jerome O’Connell and Lynch twice scored within a minute of the restart before Milford had a chance to settle but the strike rate slowed as Fitzpatrick’s free was the only other scores of the third quarter. Points from sub Ian Gibbs and Ken Rogers began the closing avalanche and they were followed by goals from Ian Mulcahy and Gibbs, a Rogers point, a Gibbs goal and an O’Dowd point before Rogers finished the tally with a goal on the stroke of time.

Pallaskenry: S Downey; A Guerin, E O’Brien, S Behan; B O’Shea, P O’Connell, A Staff; J O’Connell (0-1), K Rogers (1-2); S Guerin (0-2), W Lynch (0-3), F Clarke (1-0); O Regan, D O’Brien (2-0), G O’Dowd (0-2). Subs: I Gibbs (2-1) for F Clarke, I Mulcahy (1-0) for O Regan, S McMahon for D O’Brien, M Roche for W Lynch, M Sheehan for E O’Brien.

Milford: C Cunneen; D O’Connell, O McGarr, J Robinson; S Feighery, E Hawe, K Maher; R Grimes, R Lynch; P Walsh, J Clifford, M Doyle; K Keenan, F O’Brien, C Fitzpatrick (0-4). Subs: J Fitzgerald for K Keenan, G Clancy for P Walsh, K Keenan for D O’Connell.

Referee: J Philips (Na Piarsaigh).